Local Small Gym Or Bigger Gym

Welcome to our Cheerleading Community

Members see FEWER ads... join today!

123jump4!

Cheer Parent
Aug 24, 2014
Hi... I'm a newbie mom. A month ago I knew nothing about cheer, but after watching practices and hours of googling and youtube I now know at least a little bit! It looks like so much fun. :)

I'll try to keep this as short as I can. My 6-year-old girl has done gymnastics for a few years. At our local gym they also have a cheer all star team. So, my daughter decided to quit gymnastics and start cheer instead! This was about 3 weeks ago. Because gymnastics level 1 is pretty simple on floor, she had never really attempted back walkovers or even bridge kickovers (can do bridge though). She does great cartwheels and has picked up roundoffs too in no time. She can also almost do a full split. And forward rolls to standing. She's getting pretty good at basic cheer routines including "toe touch" jump. Working on backbend but not quite there yet.

Now, at her cheer, they have a gang of girls who competed together last season. They range from age 5 to 11 and they will all be in Youth level 1. And then they want to put my CP plus 4 other girls age 5-6 in a new Mini level 1 team. Three of the girls can not do a cartwheel at all, they look like complete beginners. I feel my daughter is way above their level, having done gymastics and having some natural athletic talent... maybe. Plus, is 5 girls even enough for a team? What happens if one leaves? I don't want to pay competition and uniform fees when the team's future looks uncertain. And she might be bored.