OT New York City?

Welcome to our Cheerleading Community

Members see FEWER ads... join today!

Off Topic
Mar 4, 2011
I'm posting this thread because we don't leave until 11am so I'm bored until then. :p So, I'm leaving for NYC with the performing arts academy at my school. This is my first time to NYC and I'm SO excited! We're staying at a hotel in New Jersey which I prefer anyways lol. We have an itinerary consisting of going to the building where SNL is filmed, a dinner cruise, going to Chinatown, seeing The Lion King (i'm so excited for that because I LOVE broadway and this will be my first show on broadway, ahhh!), maybe swing by the Today Show, and seeing the Statue of Liberty & our band will be playing there. The drive is probably going to be the hardest part considering we're driving from Owensboro, KY to New York, but I'm still excited.
Has anyone on the board ever been to NYC and can kinda tell me what it's like? I'm actually kinda nervous/anxious because I've never been this far away from home for a few days and NYC is a huge city lol. Thanks!

My mom and I went for Christmas a couple of years ago and had a FABULOUS time... My biggest advice would be go to as many shows as possible (we saw seven-yes we are losers) and take the NBC studios tour. It's really fun, and you get to see a few sets and learn random, behind the scene facts about shows. We really enjoyed it, and you'll be right there if you are hitting up the today show.
If you want to make it on the Today Show, people line up at about 5am, but they don't come out of the studio until 8:30 so there is no need to get there that early unless you want to be in the very front. I'm almost positive that if we would have stayed any longer we would have lost our legs to frostbite it was so cold, and that was our fault. Bring signs too!