All-Star Starting A New Program/team (attempting To)

Welcome to our Cheerleading Community

Members see FEWER ads... join today!

MzLyn23

Cheer Parent
Sep 16, 2014
Posted this in Coaches Room but decided it wouldn't hurt to post here too... Please don't hurt me!!! lol

So after coaching rec cheering for 5 years and resigning right at the start of this season, after much thinking, researching, studying, etc... I've decided I definitely want to start my own program. Now I know many have probably posted the same question before me and I have searched but some of the posts go on and on about things that I'm not ready to do yet... For instance having my own facility. (I wish - If I come across one I would consider renting possibly but figured it might not be necessary if I'm just starting out). Thats where I am asking for advice. Apart from the business aspect (I help my family run a small business in 2 states so maybe its a medium business and very well knowledgable on bookkeeping and necessary state licenses etc), I want to know about just kick starting the program. For example some of my questions include:
1- Can I start the program from my home for instance as my business address but hold practices at a gymnastics or cheer facility that offers mat time for rent etc? (I've heard of other all star programs that might have started like this but I'm not 100% sure - I don't want to rent or buy a facility until I have a decent amount of athletes that I know their tuition would cover rental/lease/mortgage costs)
2- assuming question 1 is yes, does this mean that i have to certify my "gym" or program with USASF as a gym or just the athletes so they can compete at nationals etc (if they were even ready for nationals depending on tryouts and how many kids actually join etc)