All-Star A Discussion About Tiny Teams

Welcome to our Cheerleading Community

Members see FEWER ads... join today!

Jan 15, 2012
A want to share a little bit about myself before I get into talking about our youngest cheerleaders. I have been coaching all-star cheerleading, mostly tumbling, for two years now. Before cheerleading, I coached recreational gymnastics for about 4 years. I was considered the "preschool director" medium sized club, which had, i would guess, somewhere between 50-80 preschool aged athletes at any given time. In terms of education, I have a degree in physical education, as well as completed the preschool courses through USA Gymnastics and read countless books and articles.

I am curious how everyone feels about Tiny Teams. For those who are unclear, the tiny division consists of children ages 5 year and under, and is limited to level 1.

I want to know:
What role does your tiny program play into your program
Does your tiny team compete?
How do the coaches of your program adapt practices and skill building activities to young children?
What would you do to improve the way tiny teams are coached or viewed as an industry?

From my experiences with all-star cheerleading programs, it seems that most tiny teams are treated as if they are smaller versions of their older counterparts, when nothing could be further from the truth! Between the ages of 3-5 there is so many developmental milestones that children pass through, that having such wide of an age range on a team seems ludicrous to me!

At best, I have seen programs in which cheerleaders at the younger end of the tiny range, become frustrated with skills and act out when they have difficulty performing a skill. At worst, I have seen programs that arrange tumbling classes strictly on level, not age, and have seen 3-4 year olds slow down an entire tumbling class.