All-Star "across The Board Judging" Legal Some Comps But Not Other Ones.

Welcome to our Cheerleading Community

Members see FEWER ads... join today!

momoftoo I hear what you are saying because I have had similar situations ( I am a coach and I get paid to do my job and I do it well IMO ). It is extremely frustrating to compete a routine and get scored one way let's say at XYZ regional and then on the same score sheet at XYZ national you get completely different scores. Legalities, well that's a lot more cut and dry than scores. Either it is legal or it isn't. I would much rather get a legality at a regional than travel across the country to that same company and get popped. As much as I 100% agree that it's the coaches responsibility, I also think that EP's should be held liable for allowing illegal elements. If you don't have the resources to have every routine looked at in detail then you shouldn't be hosting an event. Now with ALL this being said, yes there is human error and somethings just get missed. I will even go a step further and say I know I've spoken to Andre and other Safety/Legality judges and I know there are e-mails sent out among them letting each other know legalities that are being missed and legalities to look for so that later in the season legalities are caught more than early.

I think the bigger issue is that we have a set of Safety Rules that are relatively complex that have to be applied to up to 32 or 36 athletes at any given time performing various, visual skills simulataneously on sections of the mat that can be nearly 60 feet apart from eachother for 2 and a half minutes. Even Andre's 10 best judges (and Andre for that matter) are incapable of applying every rule fairly and catching every skill on the mat. Basically, if its an expectation for a Safety Judge to catch every infraction after watching a routine one time, then expect that judge to fail. It's humanly impossible.