Allstar Level Advice

Welcome to our Cheerleading Community

Members see FEWER ads... join today!

Apr 11, 2014
Hi ALL!

I am completely new to cheer. My daughter is 7 and recently made an all star mini level 2 team after just starting cheer in January (She did competitive gymnastics prior to this for 2 years so she has tumbling skills).

The problem is our gym has 2 separate locations. The main gym which has over 13 teams but is over an hour away because of traffic. Then the smaller gym which only has a junior level 2 and a youth level 1 (both undefeated last year and is only 20 minutes from home.

We were placed onto a mini level 2 at the large gym (1 hour away) where she will be a base.

We then spoke to the coach at our smaller gym and he stated he has no more room for the J-2 team and is actually cutting several people BUT if we wanted he would love to have her on his youth 1 team as the center flyer.

She prefers to be a flyer but does not want to be on an "easier" team. She has just recently moved up in her tumbling class to learn her running tucks.

Obviously driving wise (we live in Houston,TX) the closer level 1 team would be best.

SO my question...

Is it better for her to be on a level 2 team as a base?

OR

level 1 team as a flyer (to get the experience) so that next year she can try out for level 3 (hopefully) and have the flying experience?

Hi ALL!

I am completely new to cheer. My daughter is 7 and recently made an all star mini level 2 team after just starting cheer in January (She did competitive gymnastics prior to this for 2 years so she has tumbling skills).

The problem is our gym has 2 separate locations. The main gym which has over 13 teams but is over an hour away because of traffic. Then the smaller gym which only has a junior level 2 and a youth level 1 (both undefeated last year and is only 20 minutes from home.

We were placed onto a mini level 2 at the large gym (1 hour away) where she will be a base.