Alternatives To All Star Cheer For Someone Too Old?

Welcome to our Cheerleading Community

Members see FEWER ads... join today!

Mar 22, 2015
Hi, so I'm really new to cheer and this board, so I apologize if this has been asked before. I searched but couldnt find recent info on what I'm thinking about. Anyway, I ended up trying out for my non-competitive college cheer squad this year as a sophomore with no experience and I have fallen in love! I really only ended up on the team because I stopped by the team's table at the beginning of the year activity fair and some girls were really fixated on me being small. We were primarily sideline, but I was a flyer for the stunts/pyramids we did.

I would love to continue cheering and get better so I've done some research and learned about open teams. There are a few gyms somewhat near me that have open 4 teams. However, I'm definitely not level 4 material since I'm not very flexible and I have really weak tumbling, basically all my skills are bare minimum to make me useful for my current team. The bases really carried me and made everything happen since I had no experience.

Thinking about all of this and knowing that I have no experience with all star cheer, I am not very confident I would be able to make any of the open teams near me. I'm also not sure how common it is for someone to star all star in their 20s. Should I reach for trying out for the open teams or is there some other alternative I should look into?

A lot of open teams aren't entirely true to level. You may want to check them out because you can always learn more skills! Don't let the level discourage you, I'm on open 6 and most of my team doesn't tumble at all but we stunt level 6.