College Cheer?

Welcome to our Cheerleading Community

Members see FEWER ads... join today!

Apr 3, 2015
Okay, so I'm a total newbie when it comes to cheer (esp. College) and I have a couple q's.
First, whats the diff. Between NCA and UCA style? When you are trying out for a team, do you have to be committed to the school(as in, do you need to be definite in going there in the fall?) What if you tryout for two teams, and get in both?
Ok those are all the questions lol. Sorry there are so many![emoji28]

It wouldn't hurt to check out the College section here, that can have some really good advice. But to answer your questions...
The easiest way to see the difference between NCA and UCA schools are to watch NCA and UCA videos! But UCA is much more traditional cheer leading. You have to have strong game day skills to make a UCA team. In general, UCA teams focus much more on clean, solid skills and less flashy-ness/choreography. Plus, there's a cheer in the middle of the routine and teams need to submit a crowdleading video that counts for part of their score. Plus, only all-girl teams have to do a dance section in the routine.
NCA is much more all star-ish. You perform a 45 second cheer on day one only, and the style of the cheer is completely different than UCA cheers. There is usually a lot more flashy skills and choreography. I suggest watching Oklahoma State Large Coed at NCA and Alabama Large Coed at UCA, they both won at their respective competitions and a good way to see the differences.