All-Star Convincing Mom To Let Me Switch To Allstar

Welcome to our Cheerleading Community

Members see FEWER ads... join today!

Nov 22, 2015
Hello,

I really would like to switch to allstar cheer from gymnastics. My mom I don't think will be very keen on the idea mostly because she doesn't really understand it. I was hoping someone in the cheer world like a parent or coach could maybe help me change her mind with some reasoning that would appeal to a parent because I don't have that perspective.

First off this is how I feel. I've been doing gymnastics I think since around 4th grade and I'm in 10th now. I've also only been competing for two years though. I'm not very good at bars or beam and I currently have a mental block on vault. I'm currently at about level 3/10 on almost all events. i probably won't get past level 5 ever. The only event I like is floor. Floor is also my best event, the only event I got to compete at invitational meets, and the only event that I have ever placed in. If I could only compete floor I would love it, but in gymnastics you have to compete all around unless at invitationals or qualifying meets. I also used to be on a dance show team. I feel like cheer brings together a lot of what I love, dance, tumbling ( floor), and of course stunting. I have done some stunting in a different sport that I don't feel comfortable sharing on a forum because it kind of reveals who I am. I haven't done necessarily the same kind but I loved working together with my teammates to get the one girl in the air.

I think my mom's main concerns would be in the cost, travel time, uniforms, and switching so late in my teenage life.