Flyer Vs Tumbling Skills Question

Welcome to our Cheerleading Community

Members see FEWER ads... join today!

Mar 14, 2015
Hi, I am a newbie :)

I have a question about being a flyer. When I cheered many many years ago ... it was rare for a flyer to have good tumbling skills... meaning, I did gymnastics before I joined cheer..because back in my day (in the 90s), competitive cheer was more-or-less sideline cheer. It sure isn't what it is today.

But now a days, kids have the tumbling skills AND stunt skills. So here is my question. If your kid has level 3 tumbling skills and almost in level 4, tried out for level 3 tumbling skills AND also as a flyer ... but my kid was put on a level 2 team for the 3rd year in a row, is that because they want her to be a flyer? Just seems odd for tumbling skills for a level 2.. and all teams are large at the gym she goes to.

How are her flying skills or even basing skills for that matter? Are they level 2 or level 3? Because that might give you better insight into her placement. Placing athletes on a team is like putting together a puzzle where all the pieces need to fit.

I do not think it is unreasonable to request a meeting with the coach and ask what skills she needs to work on over this upcoming season to be considered for a higher level next year. This might give you a better idea as to her current placement.

How are her flying skills or even basing skills for that matter? Are they level 2 or level 3? Because that might give you better insight into her placement. Placing athletes on a team is like putting together a puzzle where all the pieces need to fit.

I do not think it is unreasonable to request a meeting with the coach and ask what skills she needs to work on over this upcoming season to be considered for a higher level next year. This might give you a better idea as to her current placement.
Her flying skills are on a 2.5 level.