Headaches While Tumbling?

Welcome to our Cheerleading Community

Members see FEWER ads... join today!

Jul 7, 2014
Hi all :)
I've been doing cheer for three years now, and just this past year I started getting really bad headaches when I tumbled. It usually starts about ten minutes into class, and then every time I do a front walkover, attempt a back walkover, forward or backward roll it progressively gets worse. It stops me from learning skills, and a lot of the time I have to sit out, or just stand for five minutes until it subsides enough for me to continue. Since then I haven't gained any new skills in tumbling at all, and so far my only skill is a front walkover.
A few times they've had to call my parents to pick me up, and I generally can't fill the whole hour of tumbling with actual tumbling, most of it I just spent trying to stop my head from pounding. Usually dizziness comes along with it.
Does anyone have any idea why this would be happening? I only drink water, and usually drink at least a bottle during tumbling. I don't always eat a full meal before cheer, as it makes me feel sick, so that could be one possibility, but I was wondering if anyone had any other ideas?
I do 2.5hrs of cheer before my tumbling class starts, which goes for an hour.
I've tried osteopaths and chiropractors (which I visit often for my back and neck pain anyway) but it hasn't seemed to help at all. I'm really tall and thin for my age also.
I would really love to progress in cheer, and I'm finding it really frustrating not being able to get any new skills. I'm going into a level three team next year purely for my stunting abilities, but I know it's lucky I made it onto this level, and know I'm not going to be able to move forward any further.