High School I Don't Understand Rules At All!

Welcome to our Cheerleading Community

Members see FEWER ads... join today!

May 12, 2013
We don't really have a coach at our high school, she is just an advisor, so as captain, I am in charge of making up routines with my co-captain. I have been doing All Star cheer for 5 years and compete at a level four level. The problem is, I don't understand the rules at all and I don't even know which rules to follow! Basically, I know noting about high school cheer rules! Here are my questions:

If I live by Los Angeles, California which rules do I follow? (I think where you live matters, but I actually don't know)

If we don't compete, do we actually have to follow the rules and if we do have to follow them anyways, who is stopping us from not?

Do we have to have from spots?

Can we do one mans with a girl under?

Thanks, and any tips on how to run a high school team would be appreciated! Also keep in mind, there are nine girls on our squad and we are all freshmans. Thanks again!

The Fierce Board App! || iPhone || Android || Upgrade Your Account!

NFHS | Spirit

Cheerleading Rules – 2013-14 AACCA High School Rules

Those are the rules my high school followed when I was cheering. I also cheered in California, so I don't think there are any state specific rules for us (as opposed to Georgia, etc.)

Follow the rules. They're put in place for a reason. You're a freshman team with girls new to cheer, there is no need to want to try back tuck baskets and other illegal stunts. Sure, you may not be caught as easily if you do illegal stunts if you don't compete, but you can still be reported and it can end with your school being grounded. I've seen high school teams do 2-2-1's on a basketball floor (which is even illegal for college) and it was sketchy as heck. Usually the teams that are doing illegal stunts are the ones that really shouldn't be, who are lacking technique and overall skill.