High School Where To Go For Tumbling Instruction

Welcome to our Cheerleading Community

Members see FEWER ads... join today!

Babs

Cheer Parent
Jan 29, 2011
My cp is taking tumbling classes at an allstar cheer gym. We're looking to get her some private lessons as well. Would it make sense to take her to a gymnastics gym for that?

If she is taking tumble classes at an all-star gym why not schedule private with one of the coaches at the all-star gym?

My only problem with going to a strictly gymnastics coach is that it will take longer to get a certain skill and may even set your cp back a couple skills.About 7 years ago when I switched from tumbling at a cheer gym with cheer tumbling instructors and went to a gymnastics private ,the guy I worked with wanted to perfect my backhandspring. Dont get me wrong Im all for perfection but I had been doing my backhandspring for over 3 years and all he wanted to fix was the way my fingers were apart when I bhs. I thought it was a little excessive and at that point I should have been working on more running tumbling and stuff rather than making sure my fingers were together. I didnt stay there long and I cant speak for every gymnastics coach. A lot of instructors probably arent like that but I do know that they will spend more time on certain skills instead of moving on. That being said strictly gymnastics coaches are good for making sure your form is correct and can really helo with the fundamentals such as a roundoff, backhandspring, tuck, layout,etc. They are just more technical and precise. Check to see if gymnastics gyms around you have a specific cheer tumbling class or cheernastics. Good Luck!

If she is taking tumble classes at an all-star gym why not schedule private with one of the coaches at the all-star gym?