College Cheering In College

Welcome to our Cheerleading Community

Members see FEWER ads... join today!

Jul 9, 2012
Hi, lately my parents have been asking me what I want to do, or where I want to go to school. My school has a program that comes in a few times a year and talks about career paths, classes to take next year, colleges, etc. I am only a Freshman this year, but cheer is a big part of my life. I cheered from kindergarten to 2nd in rec, and 5th to 8th in competitive, and I got injured and just did Highschool. I don't think i'll go back to allstar (long story, gyms aren't very good around here) I was thinking I'd continue Highschool cheer, and focus on academic, and do tumbling at my gym. I have ROBH, multiple backhandsprings but nothing more. I have always wanted to go to University of Missouri (Mizzou) but there cheerleading isn't very clear on the site. I was thinking about Lindenwood University in St.Charles Missouri but also not sure because i've always just "knew" I was going to MIZ, now i'm rethinking myself. I have always been a base, never flown so I sort of want to stay away from coed teams. It's not out of the options though. I am pretty sure i'll have my standing backtuck by the time I graduate, and my layout. I was wondering if you guys could help me find some schools to think about with good academics and cheerleading :)

Things to keep in mind:
I am not opposed to going out of state or away from Missouri, my whole family went to Mizzou so i always just thought I'd go there also.

Right now I think I want to major in Sports Medicine and become a physical therapist or personal trainer.

My grades are pretty good right now, although I am only a freshman :p

*I know it's early but it's got me thinking because a senior on my team was talking about how she is cheering in college and what not, and I just registered for my sophomore classes some pertaining to what I want to go to college for*

Thanks in advance:)