Lower Back Pain

Welcome to our Cheerleading Community

Members see FEWER ads... join today!

Jun 16, 2015
I found this board through this link
Lower Back Pain Anyone? | Fierce Board - The Voice Of Cheer
Im a newbie and I can only post in the newbie section.

Anyways my daughter has been cheerleading and tumbling since she was about 5 or 6. Last year she was complaining of lower back pain. I took her to the doctor and they did an xray and MRI on her and said they don't see any problems. To this day anytime she starts tumbling or doing alot of jumps her back starts hurting again. She also had PT and she rested for several months and it starts all over again anytime she tumbles or does jumps. She had to drop tumbling classes and she really wanted to master more skills.

Has anyone gone through this? What can be done to make it go away?

It's fairly common, and there may not be anything that can be done to make it go away completely. It may be a pulled muscle that becomes aggravated as soon as the tumbling/jumping activity resumes. I'm not a fan of chiropractors but that may be helpful. My kids have had therapeutic sports massages (not a normal spa massage) and those have been helpful. The massage therapist also gave them exercises to do which was effective.

Cp had similar issues and the cause was tumbling technique. New tumbling coach corrected it and now cp is good to go. He also used to see a chiropractor once a month but hasn't done that in a year.

**Always post responsibly**

Probably different than your situation, but my youngest CP had back problems. She was over stretching on the side that she pulls her body positions, needles, over stretches, etc. She wasn't stretching both sides. It was causing her back to be off. Now she always stretches both sides. She has also eased off from some of the extreme stretching.