All-Star What Is The Best Cheer Advice Someone Has Given You?

Welcome to our Cheerleading Community

Members see FEWER ads... join today!

Jul 25, 2011
I'm curious to know what the most memorable / useful piece of cheer advice that someone has ever given you?

As a coach I'm always trying to think of different ways to quickly and easily explain things or to make ideas/techniques click for kids who don't understand a certain concept.

My favourite would be 'make a T to the front' before any sort of full down or double down. I think it just creates a nice mental image of what they need to do.

(This is my first post on here so please don't shoot me if there's something similar in another thread, I couldn't find one).

Don't know if this will be helpfull, and i only use it with senior teams:

If a flyer is not doing her job (not pulling a body position, not initiating her twist, not fighting for a stunt) i give them this picture:
Your group did this stunt 5 times now, and you're still not even trying to do your job. Imagine a base would decide in the middle of a stunt/cradle/basket to not do her job (hold you up, catch you no matter what) any more because "something" doesn't feel right.
See? They have a job and you trust them to do it no matter what. You as a flyer have a job and they trust you to at least try no matter what.

Most times - it helps.

I found that telling the kids to "look for the wall" or "look for the trophies" in back bends and BWOs helps them to arch more and prevent the pancake flop to their head/neck. They actively look to the wall behind them as their bending, which causes them to arch harder. My little ones now say "wall wall wall wall" or "trophy trophy trophy" outloud when they're bending backwards.