High School Where Is The Best Placement For The Cheer? (comp Routine)

Welcome to our Cheerleading Community

Members see FEWER ads... join today!

Sep 9, 2012
I've been coaching for two years, and I've done it both ways... can't decide if I prefer opening with a cheer or having them cheer over a quiet beat in the routine. I'm worried about stopping and starting music; I would rather have the whole track run straight through. The year they cheered over the beat, it was criticized on the score sheet for being too fast. Not sure what the best way is; where do you place yours and why?

I prefer the cheer in the middle and two sections of music...that's how I always did it in high school. In my area is was weird for school to start with the cheer and then just straight music

Only do cheer first if you have super strong voices and it is a stregnth. Many times teams start w/ cheer and they don't have the wow factor so you lose momentum before your routine starts. ALSO it is tiring if the cheer is a good cheer performed well, so you are then starting all of your elite skills in music that is already more then 1/3rd into the routine.

I prefer the middle. Starting with the cheer just always makes me think that maybe the team was too tired half way through to yell the words. Maybe not accurate but that's just what I've always thought.

Cheering in the middle is fine if it's a crowd leading cheer, but one thing that I have noticed with teams that cheer over music is that they tend to cheer off-beat. It distracts me from their performance.

I've tried both styles: middle and beginning. I prefer beginning with my team. They have strong voices and sharp motions, which has made a great first impression to the judges and crowd. Most teams in my area either start, or do a straight 2:30 with cheer over the music.

Also.. my anxiety level is at a lower level when I have 1 music track rather than 2, lol