All-Star Worlds/ Level 5 Diet.

Welcome to our Cheerleading Community

Members see FEWER ads... join today!

Sep 21, 2010
I didnt see a thread about this, so I figured it was ok to start one.
This is my first year on a serious level 5 team and my coach has us conditioning and working as hard as we should be, and I want to make sure that my friends and I are doing as much as we can outside of the gym to stay in shape and to be as competition ready as we can be.
Whats the best diet for a serious athlete? What kind of foods should we eat to stay in shape and what kind of foods should we stay away from? Should we condition more outside of practice as well? etc etc etc.
Thanks so much :3

From a "Mom" point-of-view, eat a balanced diet! Stay away from sodas, sugar, candy, etc., fast food, processed food.
I've found myself saying this to a lot of cheerleaders lately - If you don't treat your body right, it won't do what you ask it to do. Feed your body everything it needs! And drink milk!

Everything Mamarazzi said is perfect. If you are going to be a serious athlete don't think of it as a 'diet' (or you will just focus on all the foods you shouldn't eat) but think of it more as a lifestyle. The more fresh produce and healthy food you eat, the better your body will perform, the more junk you eat the worse you will feel.

You may also find you get hungrier if you are training more often which is normal, but make smart choices will filling low GI food and take snacks like nuts or fruit to training.

I also highly recommend taking protein after training - whether in a protein shake or just something like grilled chicken or tuna, because it will help your muscles to grow and repair themselves more quickly. Taking a magnesium supplement will also help your muscles be less sore if you are training more often, and it helps with flexibility too :)
Good luck!